LAZY BLOOD by ROSS GREENWOOD THE BLOG TOUR

THE BLURB

Drifting through Life? Beware. Coasting through life, Will paid little attention to the decisions he made or the consequences of his actions. From his prison cell, after a casual descent into serious crime threatens to destroy everything, he finally understands. He had it all, he just didn’t know it. Looking back over thirty years Lazy Blood is a laugh-out-loud story of the drama of love, the endurance of friendship, the frailty of life and how they can all be ruined by broken people, random events and idle choices.

MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

I cant even start to say how thrilled I was to be asked to take part in this blog tour especially as this is going to be my very first one. This is Ross Greenwood’s debut novel so I hope that I can do it all the justice that it deserves with this my debut tour. A first for us both!

Unusually, a little like the author, I am going to start at the end and just say, when I finished reading this book I just sat there and said nothing , I was speechless, couldn’t move, couldn’t believe it. Just had an OMG that was bloody awesome moment. But a cracking end is no good if what goes before it isn’t, well this book was full of those for me.

Ross Greenwood begins his novel at the end  of his story, well almost…It is here that you meet Will in prison and through him you know that he has murdered someone, but you don’t know why. Will is obviously not new to prison life, although he has just arrived he is wise to the ins and outs. Ross Greenwood then takes you back 30 years to the meeting of four lads all new to high school. Will, Aiden, Darren and Carl. It is here where it all goes wrong because it is here where life long friendships begin.

What an amazing novel this is, I just love a book with dry humour and I think this came from the Sahara as it is brimming over with it. I was constantly being thrown images of people and situations that made me smile, giggle and laugh out. The teasing and goading between them as boys and men, when they have that connection, when they know each other all too well. The story leaps through 30 years always moving towards present day with tales of life changing events when they all come together. The loyalty always present between them but sometimes loyalty rules over common sense and some men have no boundaries. This is such a very visual novel with vivid descriptions of violence that may not sit comfortable with some readers. Myself I put this down to darn good realistic writing to what the story is about. A brilliant debut, thanks for the invite, it has been pure pleasure. So looking forward to reading more from this author!

 

HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Ross Greenwood

I was born in 1973 in Peterborough and lived there until I was 20, attending The King’s School in the city. I then began a rather nomadic existence, living and working all over the country and various parts of the world.

I found myself returning to Peterborough many times over the years, usually when things had gone wrong. It was on one of these occasions that I met my partner about 100 metres from my back door whilst walking a dog. Two children swiftly followed. I’m still a little stunned by the pace of it now.

This book was started a long time ago but parenthood and then four years as a prison officer got in the way. Ironically it was the four a.m. feed which gave me the opportunity to finish the book as unable to get back to sleep I completed it in the early morning hours.

I hope you enjoy reading Lazy Blood.

Please feel free to get in touch.

http://www.rossgreenwoodauthor.com

wp-1472970421701.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

