BENEATH THE ASHES by JANE ISAAC #BookReview #TuesdayBookBlog #AmReading @JaneIsaacAuthor @Legend_Press

29565054

BOOK DESCRIPTION

‘I thought I d never read a book that came close to the realities of crime and policing. Then I read this.’ Ian Patrick Writer and former DS with the Metropolitan Police

‘A smart, intelligent and tightly woven police procedural with real depth of human emotion at its heart.’ Rebecca Bradley, Author of Shallow Waters

An intense and gripping narrative style, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S. J. Watson, Holly Seddon and Sophie Hannah

The floor felt hard beneath her face. Nancy opened her eyes. Blinked several times. A pain seared through her head. She could feel fluid. No. She was lying in fluid.

When a body is discovered in a burnt-out barn in the Warwickshire countryside, DI Will Jackman is called to investigate.

Nancy Faraday wakes up on the kitchen floor. The house has been broken into and her boyfriend is missing. As the case unravels, DI Jackman realises that nothing is quite as it appears and everyone, it seems, has a secret.

Can he discover the truth behind the body in the fire, and track down the killer before Nancy becomes the next victim?

 

HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

My attention was grabbed at the opening page when an assailant or perpetrator was fleeing from wailing sirens in the background, a knife held, a woman on a mission and a life about to end……
The story then falls back a week to tell how this dramatic conclusion came about.

This was the first time that I was to encounter D.I. Will Jackman although he had already appeared in Jane Isaacs first novel in this series. The basic background information is briefly recapped so this book can be read as a stand alone. He is a fascinating D.I. a man that I felt was stuck in limbo with loyalties to his wife and a life they would never have again, and the stirrings of a man yearning for normality. A truly good bloke and dedicated detective.

I loved the intrigue of this story where the more answers were solved the more questions were raised. This really got to Nancy, a young woman that was as much in love with the idea of being in love as she was actually in love. A little bit of ‘rose coloured spectacles’ syndrome going on I felt. Jane Isaac’s skill as a writer combined with her obvious knowledge of how a murder investigation proceeds was impeccable to say the least. A very detailed account of events that gave this novel all the credibility of believable characters and the feel of pending tabloid headlines when it came to an superb end. Highly recommended.

I wish to thank Lucy Chamberlain, Publicity Director of Legend Press, for inviting me to read this novel. It has been a pure pleasure. I have chosen to write this review.

HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Jane Isaac lives with her husband, daughter and dog, Bollo, in rural Northamptonshire, UK. Her debut novel, An Unfamiliar Murder, introduces DCI Helen Lavery and was nominated as best mystery in the ‘eFestival of Words Best of the Independent eBook awards 2013.’

The Truth Will Out, the second in the DCI Helen Lavery series, was nominated as ‘Thriller of the Month – April 2014’ by E-thriller.com and winner of ‘Noveltunity book club selection – May 2014’.

In 2015 Jane embarked on a new series, featuring DI Will Jackman and set in Stratford upon Avon, with Before It’s Too Late. The second in the series, Beneath The Ashes, will be published by Legend Press on 1st November 2016 with the 3rd, The Lies Within, to follow on 2nd May 2017.

Both DI Jackman and DCI Lavery will return again in the near future. Sign up to Jane’s newsletter on her website at www.janeisaac.co.uk for details of new releases, events and giveaways.

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “BENEATH THE ASHES by JANE ISAAC #BookReview #TuesdayBookBlog #AmReading @JaneIsaacAuthor @Legend_Press

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s