THE VETS AT HOPE GREEN part one Escape to the Country by SHEILA NORTON @NetGalley @NortonSheilaann @EburyPublishing

32491689

BOOK DESCRIPTION

PART ONE of a heart warming and inspiring story about living the simple life and the joy of animals. Perfect for fans of Appleby Farm, Ivy Lane and Alfie the Doorstep Cat

Working as a receptionist in a London vets, Sam is living far from her idea of a simple life. She’s always broke, rents a tiny flat and is constantly arguing with her boyfriend. But the worst part is that her career is going nowhere. She wants to be a vet, but the most contact time with the animals she has is a quick hello when she books in their next appointment.

Something’s got to give, so when her parents suggest visiting her Nana Peggy in a small quiet picturesque village, she agrees, thinking a bit of R&R could do her good.

But rest and relaxation may not be the order of the day. Poor Nana Peggy’s lovely dog Rufus is unwell, and Sam can’t help but grow fond of him. With the help of Joe the local vet, a charming yet strangely distant man, Sam sets out on looking after him, despite her London life trying to call her back…

HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

What a truly delightful novel this is, although it is only Part One so really just giving you a chance to sus the place out and a who is who for the story line. Little Sam, as her family affectionately still call her, loves her job as a receptionist at quite an exclusive inner city Vets. London though isn’t a cheap place to live so she decides that she has had her fill of the rat race and her obnoxious boyfriend but the icing on the cake is when she discovers something she wasn’t expecting to find, enough is enough and she decides on a break away from it all. An Easter visit to her Nan at Hope Green on the Dorset coast sounds like the perfect retreat.
Little Sam is such an easy character to like, a lady with an huge love of animals and compassion for people. There is such a wonderful array of people in the village. A place where everyone knows everyone else and all of their business too. Brilliant colourful characters that have already established themselves in my mind. There are a couple of story lines that have taken off quite nicely and although some of this story seems predictable (I will see) it is making perfect reading. A lovely story so far with exciting times ahead.
I wish to thank Netgalley and Penguin Random House Ebury Publishing for an ARC of this book which I have chosen to review.

HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

I live in Chelmsford, UK, with my husband Alan. We have three married daughters and six grandchildren. I’ve been writing as a hobby ever since I was a little girl, and finally achieved my lifelong ambition to have a novel published, with the acceptance in 2002 of ‘The Trouble With Ally’. Prior to this, I’d been having short stories published in women’s magazines for about ten years.

My most recent books are stories with animals at their heart. THE VETS AT HOPE GREEN is the story of a girl with a dream, and the animals who are part of it.
OLIVER, THE CAT WHO SAVED CHRISTMAS and its sequel CHARLIE, THE KITTEN WHO SAVED A LIFE are heart warming stories narrated by their cat heroes.

My earlier books were ‘Chick lit’, including a series of three written under the pseudonym of Olivia Ryan. I’ve also published two books – YESTERDAY and TICKET TO RIDE set in the 1960s. More recently I published A GRAND THING, which is a family story with grandparents at its heart.

I worked for most of my life as a medical secretary. I now write full-time. I like to relax by reading, walking, swimming, going to pubs and restaurants and seeing my family and friends.

I am passionate about my writing and love to hear from my readers. I am also happy to give talks to writers’ groups and others, and book signings.

I wish to thank Netgalley and Penguin Random House Ebury Publishing for an ARC of this book which I have chosen to review.

Leave a Reply

